Von der Leyen proposes new commission: Water divided among at least four commissioners

Ursula von der Leyen presented the new European Commission Tuesday 10 September. Photo: Etienne Ansotte.

President Ursula von der Leyen of the European Commission presented her team Tuesday the 10th of September. Water issues seem to be divided among at least four commissioners. After the presentation the European Parliament has to give its consent to the new team. And than the European Council will formally appoint the European Commission.

The hearings of the designated candidates in the European Parliament have start 30 September. The need to address the changes in climate, technology and demography that are transforming the European societies and way of life will be at the heart of the work of the new European Commission.

Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans (Netherlands) will coordinate the work on the European Green Deal. He will also manage climate action policy, supported by the Directorate-General for Climate Action.

Virginijus Sinkevičius (Lithuania) will be responsible for ‘Environment and Oceans'. He is the successor to Karmenu Vella.

Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland) was a long-serving Member of the European Parliament in the Agriculture Committee. He is currently a Member of the European Court of Auditors and will be in charge of Agriculture.

Sylvie Goulard (France), former Member of European Parliament, will be responsible for the ‘Internal Market'. She will lead work on industrial policy and promote the Digital Single Market and will also be responsible for the new Directorate-General for Defence Industry and Space.